Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I don’t even remember how I originally discovered this wonder but as soon as I knew I was moving to London, I wanted to plan a trip to the Netherlands to see Keukenhof. Luckily I have friends who live in and around Amsterdam so I could easily visit them and go to Keukenhof at the same time.

Keukenhof is located in Lisse, which is within half an hour of several cities in the Netherlands. It consists of 7 million flower bulbs that bloom over an 8 week period from March to May. Holland, and indeed the Netherlands as a whole, are known for their tulips and flower fields and Keukenhof has been going for over 60 years. Having grown up in Ottawa, where the Canadian Tulip Festival every May is the largest tulip festival in the world, tulips are special to me. The Dutch Royal family gifted the Canadian people with 100’000 tulip bulbs in 1945 as a thank you for their role in liberating the Dutch in WWII and for providing safe harbour for the Royal family during the war. Princess Margriet was actually born in Ottawa but the government temporarily declared the land around the Civic Hospital as extraterritorial so that she would be pure Dutch, not a dual national. If you care to read more about Ottawa’s tulip festival, go here.

Anyways, history lesson aside, I was dead keen to see Keukenhof. My only (small) disappointment was that my friends were not available to visit in late April/early May when the tulip fields are at their best so I went inside over the Easter long weekend.

We went to visit Keukenhof on Easter Sunday and what a lovely day to visit. The weather was lovely and, while it was crowded, it wasn’t ridiculously busy. The theme of Keukenhof 2013 was “United Kingdom-Land of Great Gardens”. Somewhat ironic that I’m now living in the UK and the theme was all about the UK but amusing nonetheless.

Entrance to the Oranje Nissau Pavillion

Entrance to the Oranje Nissau Pavilion

Some flowers in front of the Palace

Some flowers in front of the Palace

Some of the gorgeous flowers in the pavillion

Some of the gorgeous flowers in the pavilion

Wouldn't be a British theme without everyone's favourite Royals!

Wouldn’t be a British theme without everyone’s favourite Royals!

 

Another of England's Queens gets flowers in his honour!

Another of England’s Queens gets flowers in his honour!

There were several pavilions in the grounds and each had a different flower show on. As the gardens are in bloom for 8 weeks, there are staggered shows so that there is always something in full bloom. Indoor pavilions were always in full bloom of course.

Unfortunately, because it’s been such a long, cold winter, not much had bloomed in the outdoor gardens. Disappointing but not the fault of organizers who certainly had enough indoor flowers blooming to fulfill any requirements.

Outside the Oranje Nissau Pavilion

Outside the Oranje Nissau Pavilion

 

Lovely pots of daffodils were everywhere outside

Lovely pots of daffodils were everywhere outside

Sunny daffodils brighten the day

Sunny daffodils brighten the day

In addition to the outdoor gardens, there are plenty of gardening ideas and art pieces around. There was, of course, a giant windmill, as well as little cafes, playgrounds and plenty to give you gardening inspiration. About 30 minutes into our wandering, my camera battery died. No worries though I was smart enough to charge my extra camera battery…..but no, I had left the battery in the charger, back at my friend’s apartment. Devastated does not even begin to cover how I felt….I admit there were several tears shed, mainly because I was so angry at myself for doing something so silly. Thankfully, I had an almost fully charged mobile phone so I was able to get my pictures (though not as fancy or nice as I would have liked, it still took some great shots).

Of course there was a windmill nearby.

Of course there was a windmill nearby.

 

Those Dutch love their cheese!!

Those Dutch love their cheese!!

 

Cute little caravan with flowers in and out.

Cute little caravan with flowers in and out.

 

Lovely art piece

Lovely art piece

 

Stroopwafels!! Delicious fresh, warm waffles with caramel in the middle...

Stroopwafels!! Delicious fresh, warm waffles with caramel in the middle…

 

A lovely spot for a rest after all that walking.

A lovely spot for a rest after all that walking.

My absolute favourite place was the Willem-Alexander Pavilion….a building that housed over 100’000 tulips!! I cannot even describe the feeling of walking into this building and seeing all the tulips. Speechless. Without a doubt it was the absolute highlight of my entire trip to the Netherlands (no offense to my friends!). This is what I had come for and even though I could not see the tulip fields in full bloom, this building more than made up for it! In addition to tulips, there were lilies, daffodils, hyacinths and various other gorgeous flowers throughout.

Sea of tulips

Sea of tulips

 

Lovely hyacinths

Lovely hyacinths

 

Tiger lily

Tiger lily

 

Gorgeous pink lilies

Gorgeous pink lilies

 

One of my favourite shots taken on my phone

One of my favourite shots taken on my phone

 

Beyond enjoying myself!

Beyond enjoying myself!

 

Not sure what these are but they're spectacular.

Not sure what these are but they’re spectacular.

 

Beautiful

Beautiful

Orange ninja!

Orange ninja!

 

 

Who wouldn't want this?!

Who wouldn’t want this?!

 

Trying to grab a bit of sunshine...

Trying to grab a bit of sunshine…

 

Stunningly coloured hydrangeas

Stunningly coloured hydrangeas

 

Possibly my favourite shot of the day....taken on my camera

Possibly my favourite shot of the day….taken on my camera

 

They had lovely random displays as well

They had lovely random displays as well

After the high of the tulip pavilion, I didn’t think there could be anything as beautiful but the anthurium, bromeliad and orchid show in the Beatrix Pavilion certainly tried. There were mannequins around the pavilion dressed in various woods and flowers which added a bit of interest should you be getting bored with the beauty of the flowers.

Inside the Beatrix pavilion

Inside the Beatrix pavilion

 

One of the mannequins

One of the mannequins

 

Wood chips anyone...

Wood chips anyone?

 

Great colours...

Great colours…

 

I was pretty happy with this shot, especially from a phone camera!

I was pretty happy with this shot, especially from a phone camera! 2nd fav of the day.

 

A little mezzanine level, dripping in flowers...

A little mezzanine level, dripping in flowers…

 

Gorgeous spots

Gorgeous spots

 

Every house needs a couch like this!

Every house needs a couch like this!

Overall, I had a wonderful day at Keukenhof. I wish I could go back when the fields are in bloom….maybe one of these years. If you get the chance to visit Holland between mid-March to mid-May….get your butt to Keukenhof….you will not regret it!

20130331_152613

Keukenhof

Open daily March 21-May 20, 2013

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

