Tags

, , , , , , , ,

So I have a bit of a girl crush on Catherine, Duchess of Cambridge, aka Kate Middleton to us commoners. I suppose I can say I jumped on the bandwagon around the time of Kate and Prince William’s engagement and it only grew with the Royal Wedding and, in particular, with their visit to Canada. I was very upset I was not in my hometown of Ottawa when William and Kate were there in July 2011 and very jealous of all my friends and family who got to see and even meet her.

My grandmother, aka Nana T, waited outside at the National War Memorial for a chance to see Prince William and Kate. She was rewarded by getting to speak with Kate and shake her hand. My grandma, cheeky thing that she is, had a replica engagement ring on her hand and Kate told her “it’s just like mine”. Nana T practically was beside herself after that and even got interviewed by Canadian tv-I wish like nothing else I could find a copy of that video again!

So now that I’m living in London, I thought perhaps that maybe if I’m lucky, I’ll get to see a glimpse of Kate around as she lives at Kensington Palace when she’s not in Wales. I happen to be off work this week and heard she was going to be in Clapham, at an addiction centre called Action on Addiction, at their Hope House, a women’s-only treatment centre. Since I am going to starting work nearby, I thought I’d scout out my route and stop in to see if I could get a glimpse of the Duchess.

Man was I lucky! I showed up and there was only press milling around and a couple of other girls, holding flowers. Eventually I went up to them and we started chatting. A super nice royal protection officer (we assumed as he looked familiar and seemed to know what was happening etc) said he would let us know if Kate could come over to take flowers and where we could stand. Unfortunately there was a man who kept wandering around, insisting he was going to ask Kate a question, and getting antsy when the police zeroed in on him that we believe ruined her coming over to us because of security fears. Jerk. Anyways…

I arrived at 9am and at 10ish we were told she’d be there around 11:30. That time seemed to drag on but finally we saw her chauffeur driven Jag drive up. The policemen blocking the road off was a big clue. Naturally she got out on the side of the road closest to Hope House; Since we were standing on the opposite side so we could only see her from the shoulders up.

Can I just saw how absolutely gorgeous she is in person?! And holy hell is her hair amazing! Seriously, I want her hair. Another of my random thoughts: killer calves! I mean I’m sure the heels helped but really. She turned to give us a wave and then shook a couple of hands and disappeared into the house. We waited about an hour before there were signs she would reappear. This time we were able to get a front on view as she emerged from the doorway. I can’t say we were too focused on her tummy though-it was just so cool to be able to see her! She crouched down to receive flowers from and chat to the 2 little kids (we were absurdly jealous of the children haha) and then walked to the car and gave us another wave before getting in. There was an audible “awwwww” when she got in and the car drove away.

Given there was only a small group of fans, about 6 of us in total, we got bombarded by journalists wanting to ask us questions and interview on camera. I considered requesting an appearance fee haha. Funny enough though I’ve seen no quotes in any papers today, though I have seen a couple interviews of the other girls. I tried not to be on camera, mainly out of shyness, but I think I made one of the Aussie interviews as the girl being interviewed dragged me into the shot so she wasn’t alone. I’m pretty sure I just stood there smiling stupidly but there you go.

Well 4 hours of standing outside (in wedge boots as well!) and I was cold and stiff but hell if it wasn’t worth it! I don’t know when I’ll be able to see her again in person so I will take this with me. I can’t wait to show the pictures to my grandma! She’ll flip! Here are some of the shots from the day:

The paparazzi getting ready for their shot!

The paparazzi getting ready for their shot!

Waving to me on arrival :)

Waving to me on arrival 🙂

 

Greeting the Action on Addiction people.

Greeting the Action on Addiction people.

 

My new Aussie friends getting interviewed by @BrettMason10, a reporter for Channel 10 in Australia

My new Aussie friends getting interviewed by @BrettMason10, a reporter for Channel 10 in Australia

 

Emerging from Hope House

Emerging from Hope House

 

Just so amazingly gorgeous!

Just so amazingly gorgeous!

Well that was my little brush with royalty! Here’s hoping it wasn’t the first and last time! I’m available for tea Catherine, whenever you’d like.

