Tags

, , , , , , ,

This weekend is Thanksgiving in Canada. Now if you thought Thanksgiving wasn’t until November, you are greatly mistaken. That is American Thanksgiving. I was never that great on history tests so I have no idea why ours is in October and the Yanks have theirs in November. There are varying explanations here if you’re interested-I was never very good at history so can never remember the reasons.

Now Thanksgiving is quite possibly my second favourite holiday, after Christmas and before Easter. In my family, these three holidays all had one thing in common: a massive turkey dinner! I would fill my plate until there was no space left, eat dessert and then an hour or so later, do it all again! My sister and I even have a full dinner for breakfast the next morning; in fact, our family’s traditional Boxing Day brunch is turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, all reheated, and drenched with gravy. YUM!!!

Since I moved to Australia, I have had to make my own Thanksgiving feast. When we were still studying, all the Canadians would get together and organize Thanksgiving at someone’s house and we’d hand out food assignments to ensure we covered all aspects of a proper feast. Even the Aussies got in on the action and I’ve managed to convert several Aussies to a Thanksgiving holiday!

This year, with everything happening with my move to London, Thanksgiving has gotten lost in the mix. I was so sad to realize it was Thanksgiving and I had no plans for a dinner. The past 2 years I’ve organized a feast at my house and let me tell you, turkeys are NOT cheap in Australia! So worth it though! So this year, I will get myself a small roast turkey, make some mashed potatoes, stuffing and mix up some gravy and I’ll have my own little celebration. Pumpkin pie is a must but as the Aussies don’t eat pumpkin as a sweet treat, I’ll have to make something myself. I’m thinking pumpkin pie bars…look for a post soon should they work out!

At this time of year, one must look past the amazing feast and consider what to be thankful for. I’m thankful for many things in my life, among them:

  • The good health of my family and friends
  • My amazing job and workplace and the fact I love going to work everyday
  • The fact my boss is so awesome and is holding my job while I flit off to London for a year
  • Getting care packages randomly in the mail from my parents
  • Sending and receiving snail mail (a lost art!)
  • My upcoming visit to Canada for Christmas to see my family
  • And, finally, the internet/Skype/text messages so I can keep in touch with my family on the other side of the world!

I hope you all have a great weekend and take a minute to think about what you’re thankful for. We take too many things for granted so it’s nice to stop and appreciate once in awhile.

Here’s a few pictures of my Aussie/Canadian Thanksgivings from over the years:

An amazing spread from a Thanksgiving a few years ago

Our very first Canadian Thanksgiving down under! We even got Canuck beer for the occasion!

A traditional Sarah plate: soo full you can’t see the plate!

Homemade pumpkin pie!!!

HAPPY THANKSGIVING EVERYONE!!

